PDA

View Full Version : Is my site in danger?


Comicguy
03-17-06, 01:17
I've noticed that over the last few days, people who are visiting my site have been coming from some porn site. A few days ago it was a nude celebrity links page and today it was some Mega Man Hentai thing.

You can see the referals thanks to the Extreme Tracker I use here - http://extremetracking.com/open;ref1?login=dynglove (http://extremetracking.com/open;ref1?login=dynglove)

I don't think active links to my site are on any of the porn pages...

It is only supposed to track it on a link that is clicked...

For instance if you click here - http://www.dynamiteglove.com/index2.shtml (http://www.dynamiteglove.com/index2.shtml)

A referal will be added that said you came from here.

Is this a sign that someone has hijacked my site?

goldfish
03-17-06, 04:27
This is a technique called Referral Spam
http://cavlec.yarinareth.net/archives/2005/01/11/killing-referrer-spam/

It's probably best just to ignore it, but there are ways to prevent it from happening, depending on your statistics package.

I wouldn't worry too much about it. I've had this coming to my blog for ages, it doesn't do that much harm it's just irritating.