Reformat A 64 Bit Win 7 Hd And Install Linux?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Rob49841, Jan 2, 2016.

1. Rob49841

Rob49841 Private E-2

Hello,
    (first poster here)

O.k. this is what i want to do. I have an old Dell Vista laptop running a Hp Win 7 64 bit hard drive. (took some doing but i got it to work lol) Any way, now that i finally got a new laptop i would like to reformat and install Linux.

#1 Is this possible and what (free) software would i need?
    #2 Install some form of Linux - Suggestions on what Ver.
    (I am a Linux newbie, although many years ago like mid 90's i think i did successfully install a copy of free bsd )

Thanks in advance to all for any input!

Rob

2. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

I always suggest that people test a few different linux distros before deciding what to install. The reasoning behind this is to see if a distro likes the hardware. If the display doesn't work properly, there is no sound or you can't seem to get on the internet, that distro(s) is useless.

I assume the laptop can boot from a USB stick. Get a few 8GB USB sticks. Download some ISOs for different flavors of linux then head here http://www.pendrivelinux.com/universal-usb-installer-easy-as-1-2-3/
    That bit of software will make the stick bootable.
    Step one, you'd select a distro.
    Step two, you find the ISO and make sure the path is correct in the address bar.
    Step three, select your flash drive letter. I triple check that I have the correct letter before I do anything else by opening My computer to be sure the stick is the letter showing in the program.
    Step four: optional. Some distros allow persistence. That means any changes you make, like adding bookmarks to a browser are saved to the USB stick so the next time you fire it up, it isn't starting from square one.