Windows 10 Login Issues.

Discussion in 'Software' started by Stuart Mathers, Sep 26, 2016.

1. Stuart Mathers

Stuart Mathers Private E-2

I have my own machine and have seen a couple of customers machines with the same issue recently.
    ( firstly i am a computer repair technician, so all the obvious suggestions will have been done. I am only taking the time to ask online because there doesnt appear to be many helpful suggestions out there )

i have been having this issue on my own machine on and off for the last few months.
    but have started seeing it more and more at work on customers machine. there is a chance, but cant be 100% sure, its since the anniversary update for windows 10.

when typing the password for the user account you get the spinning dots, for X seconds then back to the login screen, this happens no matter what password you type in be it the right one or random characters. it doesnt even say wrong username or password has been entered.

it logs in ok if you get the spinning dots with the word welcome next to it.

2. mdonah

mdonah Major Geek Extraordinaire

You said that you've had this issue on and off on your own machine for the last FEW months. The Anniversary update was released to the general public on 8/2 and this is 9/26 (1¾ months) so, I doubt that it's the Anniversary update. Also, there have been 2 patches since the Anniversary update release bringing things up to 1607, 14393.187.

But, you could try rolling back to 1511, 10586.585 on your own machine to see if the issue disappears.

Stuart Mathers likes this.
  3. Stuart Mathers

update...

on the customers machine...
    have rolled the machine back a few months, and removed their account password at login..
    all has been fine..
    until...
    after going into sleep mode due to been idle for x minutes it then goes to the user login screen, as there is no password on the account now one just needs to press enter to login...
    but nothing happens..