Accessing Bad HD with Another HD?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Minahe368, Aug 18, 2009.

1. Minahe368

Minahe368 Private E-2

Hello. I've been using this site for a long time...love it. Extremely helpful place. I just recently became a member. This is my first post. I have 2 PCs that do not work in front of me, and one very old laptop that does. The one I'm asking for help with is an HP Pavillion A340n (5 years old?). It's a family member's PC. It crashed and they couldn't fix it. They brought it to an expert who said it would cost $800 to get data off HD. They bought a new PC and went home. I'm no expert but I know a little from experience. Experience is how I learn. I hate asking for help...but...I really need help! :crybaby My husband's sick of seeing this mess lol. I know I can retrieve their family pictures (they never backed up ). I have several ideas. I don't have an XP Home CD. I do have restore CDs from original configuration and a backup on the HD as a second partition (I386) as well. The HD has errors that cannnot be fixed (chkdsk) and Windows freezes at logo at boot even in safe Mode. If I run chkdsk from I386 and specify checking/repairing etc on partition with data, it freezes at 60% every time. If I run from partition with data it ends with the one or more errors message. At one point it said "unrecoverable". I did get XP to boot a few times...extremely slow and unstable then froze when I tried to copy pic folders to USB. I tried to boot using SeaTools (diagnostics) CD I made and that froze too. Anybody have ideas? My latest... put in a 60GB Western Digital Caviar WDC WD600AB as Master, with the bad Seagate HD as slave figuring if I can boot the WD HD and see the contents of the Seagate I can copy them to the good drive.So, I put the WD in the master on the cable with jumpers set to master. I moved the Seagate to slave (same cord) with jumpers set to cable select. I can't get anything but Recovery Console no matter what I select!!! I can see b