Acer Aspire 5536 overheating

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kmanpilkers, Dec 29, 2010.

1. kmanpilkers

kmanpilkers Private E-2

Hi guys,

I have an Acer Aspire 5536 laptop which seems to be gradually overheating (and is now out of warranty!). I've noticed over the past few days it getting progessively hotter when I'm barely even running anything (just Windows 7 with Chrome running is enough to make it start running very hot). Haven't installed anything to monitor the temp yet, but there is little point as I'm fairly sure things will gradually get worse until it stops running, so I've decided I want to take it apart in order to give it a clean and reapply the thermal compound.

Just wondering if anyone is aware of any guides out there for taking apart/ressambling this particular model, or if anyone here has attempted it before. I've got plenty of experience with desktops, but never taken apart a laptop before - watching the guides for other models it looks complicated and easy to screw up if you don't take photos of everything you are doing!

Any advice much appreciated,

Thanks, Kev :)

2. mcsmc

mcsmc MajorGeek

3. cabbiinc

cabbiinc Staff Sergeant

I'm wondering if the battery is continually trying to charge causing the heating problem, or maybe just adding to the problem. Does your battery last as long as it used too?

4. kmanpilkers

kmanpilkers Private E-2

Thanks for prompt reply. Took a look at that service manual and it has no specific instructions unfortunately, but it was a long shot anyway, and the manual could come in handy for other reasons. Will have to be a wing and a prayer I think! And plenty of video and photo evidence etc.

5. kmanpilkers

kmanpilkers Private E-2

You may be onto something here but I've not noticed that the battery is suddenly lasting less time.. The battery has never lasted that well. Guess I could remove battery and keep it on mains to see if it makes any difference?

6. mcsmc

mcsmc MajorGeek