1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Addition to System Restore step?

Discussion in 'Malware Removal' started by andrenal, Feb 7, 2006.

  1. andrenal

    andrenal Private E-2

    Just wondering if you knew about this and if it should be added to the System Restore step in "Read This First":

    The Precacher helps quickly load programs in XP, so a virus can hide in precache files.

    To clear the Precache, open Windows Explorer and navigate to C:\Windows\Prefetch. Click Edit | Select All and then press [Delete]
  2. chaslang

    chaslang MajorGeeks Admin - Master Malware Expert Staff Member

    Which Adrenal should already know since it was given in the below link in message # 7:


    And guess who started that thread! ;)
  3. andrenal

    andrenal Private E-2

    Okay wait a minute. I follow the "Read & Run Me First" pretty closely, did I miss in there where it tells about the prefetch folder? If I did I guess it is buried somewhere and should be more evident. And when exactly should it be done?
  4. chaslang

    chaslang MajorGeeks Admin - Master Malware Expert Staff Member

    It is not in the READ ME. It is in the cleaning steps that we give. That is what I meant when I reference mg # 7 in that previous thread of yours.

    Anytime we fix problems, there is normal some process and files to delete. After we delete the files, we empty prefetch and then also run Ccleaner which will remove everything you just deleted from the Recycle Bin.
  5. andrenal

    andrenal Private E-2

    So a person would actually have to write in to the forum for help before you would direct them to clean the prefetch folder? It is not specifically written in your READ ME files?
  6. chaslang

    chaslang MajorGeeks Admin - Master Malware Expert Staff Member

    That's correct. First we would have to see that malware files that need to be deleted were actually running on the system. Otherwise cleaning the prefetch is not really necessary nor do you want to do that if not necessary because it will slow the operation of the PC down for a while until the prefetch folder gets repopulated again with applications that are frequently used.

Share This Page

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds