Advice on hardware: AMD vs. Intel

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by yamatosoul, Oct 28, 2008.

1. yamatosoul

yamatosoul Private E-2

I was told by a PC repair shop recently that my AMD set up (I've been having constant little problems) is far inferior to a comparable Intel system. Regarding this, I would like to ask the following to the knowlegeable members of this site:

1. Is Intel that much better? If so, in what ways?
    2. What is your opinion on my set up below (I'm not a gamer, but I do a lot of video conversions)?
    3. If I were to upgrade to an Intel set up, what combination of CPU/MOBO would you recommend in Core2Duo or Quad Core (in the $300 - $350 total range from Newegg)?
    4. Should I change any other components if I decide to go the Intel route?

As a novice, I don't know what works with what, and I want to keep as many of the components I currently have as possible. I would greatly appreciate any input.

Thank you very much,

Max

Windows Vista Home Premium 64Bit (SP1)
    AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core 3800+
    Gigabyte MA-790XDS4
    Sapphire Radeon HD3870
    Western Digital Caviar SE 500GB
    OCZ 2GB

2. Stubby

Stubby R.I.P. (September 3, 1949 - January 26, 2011)

Personally, I see nothing wrong with your setup! Maybe you need to ask that PC shop why he\she 'THINKS' AMD is so inferior. They may be 'inferior' due to the fact that Intel does cost more and maybe there is a higher profit margin with Intel, I don't know. As for which one is better, well I think it's just a matter of personal preference, and obviously that shop prefers Intel. Personally, I like AMD and just because I like it that doesn't mean that Intel is inferior. Case in point, I have 2 machines in this house, one is an AMD 3200+ and my son's is an Intel P4 3.2 and they BOTH run quite well and haven't had a problem with either one. Again, I see nothing wrong with your present setup.;)

3. yamatosoul

yamatosoul Private E-2

Stubby,

Thanks for your input!:)

4. hegemon875