And so it begins...

Discussion in 'Software' started by BigShot, Jan 10, 2007.

1. BigShot

BigShot Private First Class

After much hesitation and uncertainty about how best to go about it (if at all) I have finally installed my first Linux distro.

Off the bat I'm not too sure I prefer the look of SUSE over Ubuntu (I tried Ubuntu on a Live-CD) even though I'm using Gnome at the moment but I don't dislike it either. It looks good so far.

I've started with openSUSE10.2 (Linux Magazine cover disk) and intend to triple boot with SUSE, Ubuntu Edgy and XP once I have the time to set that up. I've been unable to find a solid reason to take one over the other so I'm triple booting initially so I can compare them and go with whichever I prefer. It seems the most sensible way to do things.

The only problem is, I've never used Linux before and am somewhat bewildered as to how it all works. If someone can point me in the direction of a good hand-holder for someone who has been using Windows for most of their computer-using life and has finally taken the plunge into Linux it would be much appreciated.

I feel rather pleased with myself about having this set up (though I've not checked my XP install yet to ensure it still works - if not I've got some big problems on my hands - I need that for work!) and am looking forwards to a long time using it - now I just need to get all my hardware working.

2. erikske

erikske Sergeant

I'd be happy to help you :)
    I use openSUSE myself (with KDE), so i should be able to handle most questions about it. General linux questions and 'i know how to do this in windows, but how do i do it in linux' questions are also welcome.
    Setting up your hardware should be the easiest with openSUSE because of YaST. This is by far the best system administration tool in linux land.

3. BigShot

A source partly of amusement and partly of frustration... You say "YaST...is by far the best..."