ASUS WIRELESS ROUTER (WL-500g)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jamespond, Jun 13, 2005.

1. jamespond

jamespond Private E-2

Hi, I'm new to networking and I need help configuring my home network.
    I have a desktop pc connected to the internet through a cable modem (Askey) and I bought a Asus WL-500g router and a WL-107G pcmcia card for my laptop. The idea is to have a small network at home to surf the net, download files, transfer them between the desktop and the laptop, etc. But....I can't get it to work. I've followed the instructions on the router manual, but it doesn't work. I'm missing something here and I don't know what it is.

Here's my topology:
    Internet --> optical cable --> Cable Modem (lan)--> network cable --> (wan) router (lan 1) --> network cable --> (lan) NIC card [DESKTOP PC]

router settings are the default ones. all lights on cable modem and router blink as if nothing is wrong. the windows firewall is down (XP sp2), and I'm using ZoneAlarm Pro and AVG antivirus free.

I've tryed different combinations using other cables (crossover) and nothing worked so far. Any help is appreciated.

Thank you

2. kjanz

kjanz Corporal

3. cat5e

cat5e MajorGeek

4. jamespond

jamespond Private E-2

I'm pretty sure now that it's something I haven't done in the configuration web page of the router or on the firewall on my desktop. I've tryed to access the web from the laptop using a wl-107g wifi pcmcia card and although it detected the network I could not access the internet.
    I am a complete newbie at this, but I'm a fast learner, can anyone explain it to me or show a webpage where I can read about it?? The instructions manual of the router assumes that I have the knowledge and it's not written for newcomers.
    It's not like I haven't searched on the internet about this, but what I found is that plp have questions regarding more advanced features of this router, where I am starting from scratch. And the ASUS website is REALLY SLOW.