avi convert to DVD

Discussion in 'Software' started by paulsiam, Apr 28, 2008.

1. paulsiam

paulsiam Private E-2

I am new to converting files and then making htem playable on my DVD player. What is the best programyou recommend for converting a "avi" file to something that will burn as a proper DVD for use on either computer or DVD player?
    It does not have to be freeware; but preferably not a beta edition.
    Thanks
    Paul

2. foogoo

foogoo Major "foogoo" Geek

3. paulsiam

paulsiam Private E-2

thanks for the advice. I have Nero 7 Premium, and see Nero Vision is one of the programs there. Can you direct me to an easy to understand guide on how to set all the options, to make the avi file ready to burn to DVD?
    Thanks!

4. joelsz

joelsz First Sergeant

http://www.digital-digest.com/articles/Nero_Vision_4_DVD_Authoring_Guide_page1.html

Gives you all the basics to get you started using Nero Vision 4 (that is the version that comes with the Nero 7 Suite)

A little piece of advice:
    It is a good idea to buy a DVD-RW disk.
    This way you can set up your movie and burn it to this disk; try it and make sure it is exactly as you want it.
    Then burn your project to a regular DVD-R ot DVD+R.
    That way if you want to make a change you haven't wasted a DVD-R

You can use that same DVD-RW over and over again (I've been using the same 5 that I bought over 5 years ago, and they still are working fine)

5. Tobster

Tobster Private E-2

good advice joel. I've also used DVD flick which is really easy to use and will automatically adjust the size of the film to completely fill the DVD. The only negative things I've found with Nero are it's slow AND I've sometimes lost audio-picture synchronisation.

6. sach2

sach2 Major Geek Extraordinaire

I'm just going to put a quick commercial in for DVDFlick it's a freeware program that works very well for authoring DVDs.

ConvertXtoDVD is a good reasonably priced payware program.