Backed up corrupted files from failing disc

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Bill Artman, Oct 24, 2014.

1. Bill Artman

Bill Artman Private E-2

I am using Rebit backup software on a Windows 7 Professional 64 bit machine which monitors file changes and backs them up immediately. The PC has two internal hard drives. Drive C which is for Windows only and Drive D which is only for my data. The Rebit backup drive is an external drive. Rebit is running with no issues and making daily Recovery Points.

A few weeks ago the D drive with all of my data failed. I installed a new drive and did a Rebit recovery - the recovery process went well with no problems. I am a photographer and I have many Jpeg image files on the D drive. When I try to open some of the Jpeg image files I get a message from Adobe Photoshop "Could not complete your request because an unknown or invalid JPEG marker type is found" and the image does not open. This message usually means that the JPEG file is corrupted and I have not found any method to repair and open the file if it gives this message.

I have tried to restore several files from the Rebit backup/s and I still get the "corruption" message. I think this tells me that before the D drive actually failed, Rebit probably was backing up the files that were corrupted as caused by the drive going bad.

Do you have any ideas or suggestions how I can recover good un-corrupted files? I still have the bad D drive.

I have always trusted the "backup process" but obviously if the backed up files are damaged the backup will be bad. I don't know how I would know this in advance to take pro-active measures.

Thanks for your help.

Bill

2. Imandy Mann

Imandy Mann MajorGeekolicious