Backup did not complete successfully

Discussion in 'Software' started by CSErickson, Sep 10, 2012.

1. CSErickson

CSErickson Private E-2

Hello everyone, I have been having trouble with my file backups and restore points. I am not tech savvy, and am struggling. It started out awhile back with an issue of there being no room in the designated file, so I tried to delete the files, but am afraid that I deleted something I should not have.

Now when I run the scheduled system backup, I get the following error message:

The backup did not complete successfully.

An error occurred. The following information might help you resolve the error:

The backup location cannot be found or is not valid. Review your backup settings and check your hardware configuration. (0x8000006)

Backup Location Recovery E:

I really appreciate any and all advice. I tried to get help from microsoft, but they wanted $100.00, and with the birth of my first child on Saturday, that is just not in my cards!

2. CSErickson

CSErickson Private E-2

I have run all of the preliminary tests and attached the results below.

Thanks again for all of the help in advance,
    Chris

Attached Files:

3. pwillener

pwillener MajorGeek

A few questions:
    - what is your Windows version?
    - what backup program are you using; Windows Backup?
    - your E: drive, is that an external disk? What is its capacity, and how much free space you have?
    - the error code you provide (0x8000006) is not valid; it should be 8 digits after the 'x'.

4. CSErickson

CSErickson Private E-2

1) Windows Vista Home Premium
    2) Windows backup
    3) The E: drive is an internal location. I do not have any external disks attached to the laptop. It is named "RECOVERY E:" and I can find it in the Computer link. It says the capacity is 14.6 GB, but only 394 MB are free.
    4) 0x80000006 Sorry I missed a "0" in there

5. Earthling

Earthling Interplanetary Geek