bandwidth usage monitor

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ukrkoz, Jan 30, 2011.

1. ukrkoz

ukrkoz Private First Class

hi all

ok, i found several old posts on this, but none really helps.

i need to monitor bandwidth usage. not on my pc! either on entire network or, at least, off my router.

i am running IPTV service, and am limited by Comcast to 250GB per month per modem.

I have found a bunch of bandwidth monitors for pc, various complexity. but they do not show general bandwidth use. we have that IPTV STB, plus my son's pc, and some other devices that use internet occasionally.

i tried to use PRSLG monitor, but it is way beyond me technically, besides, it does not show bandwidth usage. it has a sensor that needs to be added to program to monitor for this, but that's where i hit the brick wall, as i am not a programmer to fathom the wisdom of doing it.

so, does anyone know of a fairly easy to use program that will do this? is there any way to do those reports off my Belkin router? as all traffic goes through it anyway.

and no, i do not have usage monitor in my Comcast account. it disappeared as of yesterday, for good or bad.

2. gosh1976

gosh1976 Private E-2

I do believe you can use dd-wrt on a number of Belkin routers to monitor usage http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/index

You will have to flash the firmware of your router so do your research and be careful. If you mess up you could end up with a useless brick instead of a router.

3. ukrkoz

thank you. i'll look into this tonight. i have already seen something similar, but my router was not supported.
    i'll have to re-check with them, as mine is a very common router by belkin. also, for the sake of having it working, i have no problem buying a supported router.
    i found usage meter in my comcast account, but it's not to be trusted. it showed 1gb usage for february 1, and we were all at work and computers turned off. hence, i am seriously interested in my own way of usage monitoring.
    thank you.