Blue Screen @ Boot (NTFS.SYS Error)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Contagiondc, Dec 31, 2005.

1. Contagiondc

Contagiondc Private E-2

Hello everyone, thank you in advance for taking the time to read this thread. It's my first time using this site so I hope I found the right place!

I have a Dell Inspiron 4100 Notebook PC running Windows XP Professional.

Pentium III-M 1.13 Ghz
    512 MB RAM (2 x 256MB)
    10.0 GB HDD

The computer worked fine until a few weeks ago, when I turned it on and it gave me a blue screen fatal error a few seconds after the Windows XP loading splash logo was displayed on my screen.

The error displayed, amongst other hexadecimal digits, something about uninstalling Antivirus software, running CHKDSK /F, and error with NTFS.SYS and date stamp etc. The screen flashed too fast for me to copy down the exact details, but if you do need this, please let me know so I can patiently copy the digits down.

At first, I thought it might be a memory problem so I attempted to reboot the computer after taking each of the 2 memory chips out, one at a time. Whether I placed both, #1, or #2 (in both bays too), I still got the error, so i didn't want to quite rush out and buy new memory yet.

Then, I tried to get Windows XP CD to boot the PC and tried to enter the recovery console so i could do a CHKDSK /R and everything worked fine until the point where I type the "R" key on my keyboard to enter Recovery Console. As soon as I hit R, blue screen appears again.

Please help me out if you can. Much thanks in advance!!!

Sincerely,
    David Chung

2. oldguy51

oldguy51 Private E-2

First some questions:

What were you doing the last time you used the laptop? Did you add or remove any software or hardware? I queston this becasue of the Anitvirus message you received in the error.

Can you boot into SafeMode by pressing F8 during boot?