Blue Screen of Death - Windows 7

Discussion in 'Software' started by thedon01, Feb 27, 2013.

1. thedon01

thedon01 Corporal

i have a desktop with windows 7 pro 64bit (new build as of last summer)
    32gb ram
    Intel i7 3820 3.6ghz
    ASUS Rampage Iv Extreme
    256GB SSD
    (3) Internal 1TB HDD
    (1) External 2TB HDD
    (1) External 500GB HDD

I've noticed 3 blue screen crashes over the last 5 days. They've happened when im browsing the internet and playing a video through windows media player.

I'm new to blue screen crash diagnosis and downloaded Blue screen viewer from major geeks. After running the program im not sure what to do with the results or if i even need to post said results.

Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

2. _nullptr

_nullptr Major Geeky Geek Geek

Copy/Paste the last 3 dumps from the Windows\Minidump directory to your Documents directory. Zip the dumps (from the Documents directory) and attach to your next post.

HOW TO: Attach Items To Your Post

3. thedon01

thedon01 Corporal

had a 4th a little while ago so it's attached as well.

Attached Files:

4. _nullptr

The first thing I'd do is test your RAM with Memtest86+. You need to burn the Memtest iso as an image file to a CD, or download the Auto-installer for USB Key and install it to a spare USB thumb drive.

Open the PC when it's powered off and remove all but one of your RAM modules.
    Boot the PC from the created Memtest CD/USB and let it run for at least 5 passes. If Memtest shows any errors, power off and try the same module in a different slot.
    Repeat for all RAM modules.

Good luck :)

5. satrow

satrow Major Geek Extraordinaire

All 4 crashes look like they have the same cause:
    There's a WDC driver that pre-dates W7 in all 4 dumps:
    wdcsam64.sys Wed Apr 16 09:39:08 2008 (4805BB2C) Western Digital SCSI Arcitecture Model (SAM) WDM driver 2008 driver version has known BSOD issues in Win7