Burning bluray to disc

Discussion in 'Software' started by psco2007, Dec 23, 2013.

1. psco2007

psco2007 Master Sergeant

I'm starting to backup my bluray collection and have a question:

I can burn direct - using the full disc, or I can shrink.

I used Makemkv to convert - took a 43gb bluray to 19gbs.

I then used handbrake,which further reduced it - 7gbs.

Now I have to convert - used Freemake - 4.3gb.

How much deterioration will there be - it seems that going from 43gbs to 4.3 is defeating my purpose of keeping original quality, or is there a better way?

Thanks,

Paul

2. dlb

dlb MajorGeek

I have little experience w/ BD, but I have ripped MANY DVD movies. If I took only the movie w/o features, bonuses, commentaries, and the like, I could get it down to 650mb-1.5mb depending on the movie. Generally, a move under 90minutes could be safely compressed down to 650-800mb (of course, the smaller the output file, the worse the quality). I was able to rip my Star Wars box set - all 6 movies - to fit on one DVD in DivX format w/o significant quality loss. However, BD is different. You can try different settings (such as going from 5.1 or 7.1 surround sound to 2ch stereo sound) to keep video quality, and I have friends that ripped BD movies to less than 2gb or 3gb, but it's a lengthy process (as you know) and there is a loss of quality. Maybe this is totally not helpful, but I tried. ;)

Merry Xmas!

3. Just Playin

Just Playin MajorGeek

That's a lot of compression.

Have you played back the video at each stage to compare with the original to see how much resolution you're losing with each step? It's size vs quality. Nobody is going to tell you how to get full HD quality in a tiny file.

4. psco2007

psco2007 Master Sergeant

\

Haven't tried that yet.
    What would be your suggestion to backup the BD getting the best quality?

Should I just burn the original gbs straight to disc?

5. Just Playin

Just Playin MajorGeek