Buying a new laptop and looking for advice.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by LadyBrock, Mar 6, 2010.

1. LadyBrock

LadyBrock Private E-2

I hope this is okay to post here - there are some similar ones but they'd be pretty outdated now.

My 2.5 year old Toshiba is starting to die and I'm looking to buy a new one. I was wondering if any of you could give me suggestions on things I need to include, or if there are any good ones that you know of out there. A couple of things about my requirements (I'm looking for a PC):

I am a medical student so a good screen/graphics is fairly important (not medical grade obviously but nothing sketchy). A lot of my schoolwork is done on a Blackboard Learning System, for which I had to upgrade to 2Gb of RAM when I started (I know that's not a lot but I thought I'd throw it out there). I play WoW but no other games (I understand in terms of games that WoW is big but not a HUGE killer?). I make music videos (right now I'm using WMM but I'm hoping to buy something a heck of a lot better than that soon). And the kicker, my price expectation is somewhere around $900-$1000 (is this unrealistic?).

Any advice you have would be awesome! Thanks. :)

2. scajjr

scajjr Sergeant

$900-$1000 would get you a heck of a nice laptop. You can get very good ones in the $600-$900 range as well. In that range most have a dual-core processor, 4Gb of memory, 500Gb hard drive, 15" screen, DVD/RW drive and wireless networking. Look at BestBuy.com, etc.,. The $750 range gets you a nice laptop.

Sam

3. bigfurrykid

bigfurrykid Sergeant

4. Burrell

Burrell MajorGeek

If youre looking for raw power, this may be it. But the screen is rather small

But for a bit less, with almost as much bang, have a look at this. This has a good screen size, good resolution and should handle WoW.

5. ezum

ezum Private E-2

The link for the laptop from Bigfurrykid would not be good for WoW, you should get a Laptop that has a video card.