Can Mozilla Firefox be used with Dial-Up?

Discussion in 'Software' started by CaNoFzOo, Oct 22, 2005.

1. CaNoFzOo

CaNoFzOo Sergeant Major

I use AOL. But I'm tired of it, because it's stupid. I downloaded Mozilla Firefox, but it doesn't seem to be working. When I open it up and try to go on a web page a message pops up saying the operation timed out. I'm confused.

2. lil_bugger

lil_bugger Private E-2

Im on dialup, and firefox works fine for me, but im not too good with the technical side of firefox (ive only used it for a month or so), maybe someone else can tell you what to do

lil_bugger

3. da chicken

da chicken MajorGeek

AOL is both a browser and an ISP. Firefox is just a browser. To use Firefox, you probably have to open up AOL and connect, and then switch over to Firefox and use that with AOL is still open. You can minimize AOL, but don't close it because that will hang up your modem.

4. fiver22

fiver22 Sergeant

If AOL is your ISP then "da chicken" has the answer:

5. greenknight32

greenknight32 Sergeant

da chicken is right. I suggest you start shopping for a new ISP, though. You can get unlimited dial-up for a lot less than what you pay for AOL.

6. laurieB

laurieB MajorGeek

hello canofzoo, long time no hear from, drop in the lounge and say hello. aloha laurie

7. Brandon

Brandon controlmind

Switching too DSL from dial-up isnt the worst idea, since most DSL providers arnt that much a month. I use Yahoo DSL and its under $20 ... dont know about others.

Brandon

8. Insomniac

Insomniac Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan

You guys in the States are spoilt when it comes to broadband. (And come to think of it, petrol or gasoline)

9. Ken3

Ken3 MajorGeek

I'm on Yahoo High speed Dial up and saw the ad for the Yahoo DSL, but it's not available in my area, but I'm getting 50 - 53.x on this 56k modem.

I'm also interested in this as question as well.

10. star17

star17 MajorGeek