Can someone help a complete noob to C++?

Discussion in 'Software' started by MicronBOMB, Oct 25, 2009.

1. MicronBOMB

MicronBOMB Private E-2

I'm trying to learn C++ and so to practice my newly learned skills (as minimal as they are) I am making a simple text-based game. The game requires a loop to function properly ( thats the conclusion I came to anyway) but for some reason I keep getting errors when compiling. I don't think the game is 100% appropriate for the forum otherwise I would just post it but if someone is willing to help please contact me on skype under Zachery <snip>. Thanks everyone!

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 26, 2009
  2. MicronBOMB

MicronBOMB Private E-2

This is the code for some reason whenever I introduce the do{ }while statement to loop the program until you dont have any men left I keep getting syntax errors when compiling. I did finally get it to run (not in its current state however) but the program didn't loop like I wanted. Any ideas?

#include <cstdlib>
    #include <iostream>
    #include <string>
    #include <ctime>
    using namespace std;

int main()
    {
    signed int cash;
    short spice;
    short sugar;
    short tea;
    short men;
    signed short spicecost;
    signed short sugarcost;
    signed short teacost;
    signed short mencost;
    cash = 10000;
    men = 1;
    sugar = 0;
    spice = 0;
    tea = 0;
    spicecost = -1500;
    sugarcost = -1000;
    teacost = -2000;
    mencost = -2000;
    short x;
    short y;
    short z;

do{

cout << "So you wanna make some money?"<< endl;
    system ("PAUSE");
    cout << "The object of this game is to make as much money as you can before you die!"<< endl;
    cout << "You must balence risk vs. payoff and you only get 30 turns."<< endl;
    system ("PAUSE");
    cout << "Each time you get caught you will lose one man if your already down to one man"<<endl<< " That means..."<< endl << "You lose!"<< endl;
    system("PAUSE");