Cannot File Share on Home Network

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kskovach, Jan 2, 2012.

1. kskovach

kskovach Private E-2

Hi all - network newbie here.
    I had setup a network with a linksys router (now gone) with two Win XP SP3 computers and I had success in setting up simple file sharing (music, pics, etc.). Then I had to change the router to an ISP provided SMC 8014W-G and I can no longer share files. Not sure if that was a direct result as I just noticed I can't share over the holidays (a month or two after the router change).
    The desktop (192.168.0.110) is wire connected to the wireless router/gateway (192.168.0.1)and the desktop contains the files that I am attempting to share. The laptop (192.168.0.167) is wirelessly connected to the router. Both computers are on the domain "workgroup" and both can access the internet and do "everything" except share files. The gateway is 192.168.0.1 - both computers show subnet 255.255.255.0 and DNS suffix phub.net.cable.rogers.com - I tried calling the ISP for support and they are only care if the the computers can hook up to the internet and cannot / will not provide tech support for file sharing.
    I have tried a number of troubleshooting steps from this site and microsoft troubleshooting with no joy:
    1. I have tried to "ping" the router with success from each computer, each computer to itself also with success but no joy on pinging the other computer or connecting to the other via a url e.g. typed in the other computer's url into firefox (e.g. \\192.168.0.110 from the laptop and vice versa).
    2. I have run and rerun the network setup wizard (with reboots) with no joy
    3. I have changed the workgroup domains to match (one was Home and the other Workgroup) - now both are Workgroup