Can't boot from disc unless HD is unplugged. BSOD

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tearinitupson, Mar 15, 2011.

1. tearinitupson

tearinitupson Private E-2

I have been trying to fix a Dell 220s that runs Vista-32 which recently has the BSOD. I have tried everything I can think of as I am an entry level IT tech and I am hoping to get a little nudge in the right direction here. My problem is that the BSOD is a STOP Error 0x00000050: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA which usually indicates hardware error such as Memory but I have already switched out the harddrives and ruled that is the problem. The strange thing I can't figure out is that when the harddrive is PLUGGED in and I make CD/DVD the main boot drive it tries to load the recovery files, then enters the windows splash screen and gives me the BSOD again. However, if the HD is UNPLUGGED sitting on my desk and I boot from CD/DVD I CAN indeed access the recovery disc... You can see my problem as you can't rewrite the files if the HD isn't plugged in. PLEASE HELP!

2. sach2

sach2 Major Geek Extraordinaire

Dell's usually have a one-time manual boot menu activated by F12 during the Dell splash screen. Try to access it, with the HD connected and CD in tray, and choose to boot to CD from the list.

3. tearinitupson

I have tried accessing the settings using the F2 button AND using the one-time F12 function. I actually was using the F12 more so that F2 to try this. Still not working... Any other ideas? Never encountered anything like this before and it is a company computer so I really hope to get it up and running to save my boss a few $.

4. sach2

Yes, I see I misread your original post.

So without the HD it loads files and restarts and asks you what you want to do Install/Repair.

With the HD it loads files and restarts and gives blue screen.

What are you trying to do with the recovery disc? Repair the OS or fresh install?

5. tearinitupson