Can't get 2nd Dimm 512mb memory to work

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by trebor, Feb 18, 2005.

1. trebor

trebor Private E-2

I'm just learning about these things so if someone can help it would really be appreciated. I can't seem to find anyone on the internet that has this problem so it must be something stupid.

System is Acer Aspire Desktop T310 Motherboard Acer E61ML
    CPU Intel pentium 4E. 3000 MHz (15X200)
    Motherboard Abit SG-72/ECS 661FX-M (Deluxe)
    Chipset SIS 661 FX
    Memory DIMM, SDRAM Maximum 1024MB 2 Slots
    System memory 480MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
    Memory modules (Ao) Not installed (A1) Dimm sdram 512MB
    Hard disks 2 X Maxtor 6Y160MO SCSI 160GB, 7200 rpm, Serial-ATA/150
    BIOS Pheonix - Awardbios v6. 00PG
    Operating system Windows XP Pro service pack 2

I think that's about it, anyway when I try to put another bit of memory (512MB) in the second slot even of the same brand an intermitent high pitched noise comes out and nothing seems to work. I have two modules of Nanya and one of Samsung. Each one of them works fine individually in slot A1 and show identical details but won't work together when you place another in slot A0. Same thing happens if you put them into slot AO individually. Nobody around here seems to have any ideas and the Acer website seems pretty useless. Robert :rolleyes:

2. ~Pyrate~

~Pyrate~ MajorGeek

which motherboard are you using? the abit or the ECS? if you are unsure you can use Everest in the dl section to find out

3. trebor

trebor Private E-2

Pyrate, the details of the motherboard are (don't know that much about them)
    Motherboard Name from Everest: Abit SG-72 / ECS 661FX-M
    Motherboard ID 01/20/2004-SIS-661-6A714E1AC-00

I assume from ECS in the middle of the motherboard name that it is the ECS that you mentioned, Robert.

4. ~Pyrate~

~Pyrate~ MajorGeek

that's weird that everest should give you two manufacturers for you motherboard ... but it does say ECS on the moterboard itself?