Can't Kill Multiple Open Internet Ports

Discussion in 'Software' started by Virtual Madness, Sep 27, 2011.

1. Virtual Madness

Virtual Madness Private E-2

Hi,

I've been referred here by Kestrel13! in the Malware Forum. Essentially, we've gone through the motions with my system to make sure its' 100% clean - Kestrel13! confirmed it is...

I've copied below the first and last logs...can anyone help put this issue to bed???? :(

Hi guys,

I’m new to the Forum, so please be gentle…

Okay, I’m hoping the Techie genius of all time ends up reading this to help me out with a mind-boggling problem. I’m not a novice, but I’m not an expert either when it comes to Hardware/Software and the nuts and bolts of it all, but I can find my way around okay, at least I thought I could.

A few months ago, my hard disk failed in my laptop (it was about 10-years old!), so I used dd rescue (via a Linux Live CD) to recover as much as possible to an external hard drive (my normal back-up method was about 2-weeks out-of-date annoyingly, so I needed to recover documents etc).

I bought a new hard disk and re-installed everything (Windows XP SP3 and other programs relevant to my everyday needs), along with customization of settings etc. Everything was hunky dory and back to normal for a while, but then, after visiting a well known ‘Cash Back’ website on a particular occasion, I noticed that iexplore.exe ‘hung’ in Task Manager. I could visit other websites, such as a well-known auction site amongst others, and wouldn’t see the problem i.e. after closing the browser (IE8 in this instance), iexplore.exe would end as you would expect.