chipset

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jackabyte, Jun 29, 2005.

1. jackabyte

jackabyte Private E-2

hi all,(total noob here).
    i hope someone can help,my problem is that i have a p4 titan series motherboard GA-8S648(-L).i have a intel celaron 2.6ghz processer and i was going to upgrade to a p4 3.0ghz with HT(hyper-threading),and was wandering if the 648 chipset supports HT.any help would be appreciated.

2. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

3. jackabyte

jackabyte Private E-2

thnx m8 great help,i'm a bit confused why it supports 3.6 and not 3.0 :confused: but thnx again :D

4. DavidGP

The 3.6g Northwood is a FSB 533 and the 3.0g Northwood is a FSB 800 with them being different bus speeds the motherboard would have to support those speeds and your particular one sadly doesnt.

5. jackabyte

jackabyte Private E-2

ah,i see.i'm sure mine supports 533 fsb (478 pin socket).but when i went on the intel website i couldn't see one,have they stopped makeing them and moved on to 800 fsb?.

6. jackabyte

jackabyte Private E-2

ok so would i be better of upgradeing my motherboard to take a 800 fsb processer or wouldn't i notice much of a difference with a 533 fsb,and if so which is better amd or intel i mostly play games on my com and a little web surfin.

7. rogvalcox

rogvalcox MajorGeek

Try posting when you have something worthwile to add.

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2005
  8. Rikky

Rikky Wile E. Coyote - One of a kind

Another totally non relevant post. Spam your opinions elsewhere this is a HELP forum. Posts not pertaining to directly helping someone will be deleted.

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2005
  9. A.Son

A.Son Sergeant

It is 848 Chipset not 648 chipset, 848 chipset can support to HT bus 800 at 3g2 but It depend on the updated bios from manufacturer.

10. A.Son

A.Son Sergeant

11. Rikky

originally posted by jackabyte