Chrome browser acting up: cant open most sites (or images), 404 and yahoo error...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Layala, Dec 29, 2012.

1. Layala

Layala Private E-2

Hi all,

First off I'm not a computer expert so bear with me.
    This started a few days ago. I did not do anything except download torch a few days before that which didn't give me any problems.

I added and checked google chrome in firewall and I scanned my PC for viruses with the microsoft security essentials, it came clean. But these errors are still occurring. It take ages to open a site, most of which can't be opened anymore (which were completely fine before).

Along with images and ads not showing in the sites that open, the ones that don't open display 3 types of errors (so far):

1) Error 404

2)Not Found The requested URL was not found on this server.

3) yahoo search solutions "URL is not available".

Please help me, this is getting on my nerves and I am a bit of a computer idiot...Im using windows 7 btw...

2. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

Re: Chrome browser acting up: cant open most sites (or images), 404 and yahoo error..

Hey and Welcome to the forum :)

First off is your Windows 7 at Service Pack 1? (kinda helps at times if other instructions are needed)

Do any other browsers work ok as in Firefox or Internet Explorer for you to connect to the internet?

What firewall are you using?

Nah we are all computer idiots so feel at home.......

3. Layala

Layala Private E-2

Re: Chrome browser acting up: cant open most sites (or images), 404 and yahoo error..

Hey david, thanks for the warm welcome :)

I had to google how to check for the service pack and yes, its service pack 1.
    No the other browsers are acting up as well.

As for the firewall, I'm not sure how to answer that :p windows i guess? lol

Hope you can help this fool out. :-D

4. DavidGP

Hi Layala