Cleaning my Hard drive

Discussion in 'Software' started by balloo, Apr 11, 2010.

1. balloo

balloo Private E-2

Hi I want to sell my old PC so i need an Excellent Hard Drive Cleaner I am not a computer techie more a computer dummy but what I have read about software that can recover anything off your Hard Drive (Encase or F.R.E.D.D.Y) I am afraid that someone will be able to retrieve my Data I do all my banking and payment of bills on the net So I am looking for a good one please Evidence Eliminator looks good but it costs nearly 100 English Pounds thats to expensive for my disabled pension to afford. In case you are wondering a new Computer is to expensive for me to but as my son is in business he is upgrading and giving me his computer. :p
    Thanks Guys

2. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

Hi

This PC of yours is it one from the likes of DELL, HP (OEM makers) etc that will have a restore disk/partition or is it a custom build PC that you still have a Windows disk for?

Reason to ask this is you could wipe the HDD completely and re-install a base Windows with no apps or what came with the OEM PC.

Or you can use the likes of Eraser and CCleaner to wipe files (in CCleaners case you need to choose the secure erase options in the Options > Settings menu, depending on what erase option you choose be it 3 pass or 35 pass Gutmann then it may take quite a few hours to finish. It may also take a while to make sure you have deleted and erased securely all your personal files.

3. balloo

balloo Private E-2

Hi Halo