clueless network newbie w/security ?s

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dome, Jan 2, 2006.

1. dome

dome Private E-2

I'm new to networking. This is our scenario:

1. Dell PC, XP Home, wired to Linksys router, WRT54G (for the "old folks at home")
    2. Dell notebook, wireless, XP Pro (for our son; he has wi-fi at school)

1. When the router was first installed, I changed the password and changed the name of our SSID. Everything was fine until I disabled the SSID. At that point the laptop didn't seem to recognize the network. The folks at Linksys told me to change the order of preferred networks which includes removing all the networks on the laptop except for our home network. I am somewhat reluctant to do this because I don't know if it will create problems for my son when he brings his laptop back to school. Your suggestions?

2. It seems that the internet connection has been slower since we installed the router. Is this to be expected?

3. Since we won't need the wi-fi capability while my son is away at school, can the router be disabled, and if so, will it have to be reconfigured when we enable it again?

4. When I make changes to the router's security system, I'm unsure as to what needs to be done at the laptop's end to make things compatible. The Linksys website tells me how to configure the wired PC, but I'm having trouble getting information about configuring the wireless devices. Maybe someone can point me to some informative link somewhere.

Thank you!

2. brownizs

brownizs MajorGeek

You can disable the WiFi on the router, but not the router itself if you do not need the WiFi capabilities. As for not being seen, did you happen to turn off 'SSID' on the Router?

3. dome

dome Private E-2

Yes, I purposely disabled the SSID broadcast because I under the impression that our network would be safer. But now my son's wireless laptop does not detect our network. What should I do?

4. techsalong

techsalong Guest