Computer Freezing ... Software or Hardware?

Discussion in 'Software' started by benji99, Aug 11, 2011.

1. benji99

benji99 Private E-2

I've been running this particular setup since early 2008;

ASUS M2N-E AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 Ultra MCP ATX AMD Motherboard
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Brisbane 2.2GHz Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor
    NVIDIA GeForce 7800
    ADATA 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM 800 (PC2 6400)
    M-Audio Audiophile 2496
    1 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive (Operating System)
    1 x SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive
    3 x SAMSUNG Spinpoint F1 750GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive
    LOGISYS 600W ATX SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Power Supply
    DVD/BR Drive
    14-in-1 card reader
    2 x 21" Dell Monitors

All housed in a NZXT TEMPEST EVO case running Windows XP.

Now onto the problem. For the past 2-3 weeks, I am experiencing my computer freezing up. When I say freeze, this means that the mouse still moves, but any software running at the time will be unresponsive. I can open my computer, my documents, etc ... however, I can't start or end any software. I can open the task manager, however, using it to force the shutdown of software will cause it to hang. I also can't power off the PC (or restart). I have to hold the power button and force a hard shut down (turn off).

I have not found any common situation when this happens, though, it never happens after rebooting and actually using the PC. It is always hours later. I have tried changing my power settings (currently set to never turn off hard drives, don't turn off monitors and screensaver after 5 minutes)

Looking at the event viewer, the only 'warnings' I have are time related (hasn't synchronized in xxxxxx seconds). That's it.

I have run all typical spyware apps. Malware Bytes, Spybot S&D, SuperAntiSpyware. I run CCleaner regularly. I also run Hijackthis semi-regularly.