Computer Randomly shuts down

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MilanKovacevic, Aug 20, 2010.

1. MilanKovacevic

MilanKovacevic Private E-2

HI,

its my first time on these forums, i have not been able to find a solution anywhere.

i recently put together a new pc, with the below components.

- ASUS p6x58 premium m/b
    - intel i930 cpu
    - asus ATI radeon 5970
    - 3 x 2gb patriot gamer 2000mhz ram
    - 850w psu
    - auzentech x-fi forte sound card
    - asus dvd burner
    - seagate 2tb hdd

neadless to say i spent a lot of money and am tearing my hair out!!

first time i put everything together i inserted the windows 7 64bit disk to install. half way through installation the computer just shut down.

following this, every time i turned it back on, it would shut down within 30seconds of turning on, and a few times even before the monitor would turn on.

i took out 2 ram sticks and tried with 1, still same result.

i took out sound card, same result.

i ripped it all apart, put it back together as carefully as humanly possible, and same thing. after 30 seconds it would just shut down.

i thought at first the buttons on the case were faulty so i disconnected them from the m/b and turned the comp on directly on the m/b but same deal.

is there anybody out there that may know what is going on or has faced a similar problem? its becoming increasingly obvious that im going to have to take it in to a repairer and cop the fees..

2. Are you sure you have mounted the heat sink on the CPU correctly with the correct amount of thermal paste? could just be overheating?

3. holiday

holiday Private E-2

If it's not the CPU overheating, or a fan not strapped down / snapped down fully the the next thing I would try is a different power supply just in case your new one is a dud. If that's not the problem then check to make sure that everything's clean and straight on the motherboard mount, as in nothing that can cause it to ground out to the backside of the case.