Computer Turns Off When Playing Games

Discussion in 'Software' started by aetherdemon, Feb 16, 2011.

1. aetherdemon

aetherdemon Private E-2

I am having an issue with my computer turning off while playing games.

Everything else works just fine, but when i boot a game up it will play for a few minutes usually and then the entire computer just shuts off.

I am sure air flow isn't a problem because i have sufficient fans :/

Sorry if some specs are missing as I'm a newb. Just let me know if you need more info and I will do my best!

Windows 7 (build 7600) 64bit
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz
    NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 512Mb
    Memory : 4gb
    PSU 500w

Also have a cooler master cpu cooler attatched

Thanks for any help you can give, guys!

Also, I don't know what help this may be but sometimes I can turn the computer back on right away. and sometimes I will have to wait a few minutes before booting up again

2. Maxwell

Maxwell Folgers

What you describe does suggest a heat issue even though you believe you have enough fans. I suggest running GPU-Z to monitor your graphics temperature before shutdown: http://majorgeeks.com/GPU-Z_d5796.html

Have you looked at the Windows event log to see what events are recorded at the time of shutdown - report these back here.

3. Mimsy

Mimsy Superior Imperial Queen of the MG Games Forum

This supports the heat theory.

What motherboard do you have? My main gaming rig was acting just as if it was over-heating a couple of months ago, and it turns out it had a serious BIOS glitch. Basically, when my CPU hit 65C, the BIOS thought the CPU was actually at 95C, and in panic shut off the whole system. Very annoying. BIOS update fixed my issue...

...it might not fix yours, but taking a look at the motherboard never hurts. :)

4. aetherdemon

aetherdemon Private E-2

The last temperature reading from the gpu was at 67 degrees before the shutdown.