Computer Will Not Turn On

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bbbco, Aug 21, 2006.

1. bbbco

bbbco Private E-2

Ok, here's the deal:

I had to update my motherboard back in May, along with my video card and chasis. Everything was well and good until one day in July, my roommate was playing LotR: BfME and all of the sudden it just froze. Nothing happened whatsoever, I tried everything. So, I resorted to a hard reboot. Next thing I know it won't boot up. Nothing happens on the screen.

So, I took the compy back to the shop that I had worked with before to get the new mobo and such, and after some testing they claimed that my mobo (socket 478) went bad, so they got a new one under warrenty. Next thing I know I get a call from them claiming that it was not the mobo, it was my processor. Evidently a bad chip, though I have been using it for the past three years (P4 3.0ghz, 800fsb, HT).

So, because I really had a hard time finding an affordable chip for the 478 socket, I found a deal on newegg that gave me an AMD mobo and chip combo. So, I just got it and replaced it tonight. I hooked everything up correctly, and hooked the external parts up. Nothing on the screen happens, though all the lights and fans work fine.

I tested my monitor by hooking it into an old laptop, works perfectly.

I do not get a POST beep until I just have CPU, RAM, and IDE1 (CD / DVD drives) hooked in, yet still nothing on the screen when I turn it on (the new mobo has onboard video, I have tested with both my video card and this). The beep is just a regular one beep.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

bbbco

2. tunered

tunered MajorGeek

First thing, clear cmos, either by jumpers if you know which ones or by simply pulling plug on power supply and removing m-b- battery for a few minutes, i guess your ram may not be compatable with your new board, and possibly your power supply. ide 1 or primary is for your hard drive, secondary is for dvd-cd rom. ed

3. TimW