cooling for new system *advice pls**air*

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BitisGabonica, Jun 14, 2008.

1. BitisGabonica

BitisGabonica Private E-2

Hi all, **looks around** **warns all about a huge post lol **

I have just built a budget bang for buck machine, by the skin of my teeth as it were...lol and wanted advice from the guys who know how! but firstly some backround...

Im by no means a professional in I.T or system building, but i have been around a while, and had many machines, i do not have any qualifications in anything IT like, but maybe i should have.... I do know my way around your basic machine, but thats about it..because i never had the money to make an uber rig, mostly ivejust had cast offs and built machines from them lol :)

Recently i have become more interested, and actually wanted to build a machine capable of playing some modern games, and also capable of encoding AVI to DVD under the time it took my old machine....which took that old thing 6 hours to duel pass encode a dvd in nero vision version....2

So i bought a few items for a new machine....which included...

MOBO - ASrock - ALiveNF6G-VSTA
    CPU - AMD athlon x2 5000+ BE - Brisbane
    RAM - 2 gb generic ddr2 duel channel - 800mhz
    GRAPHICS - nvidia 7300gs pcie
    HD - some low end maxtor SATA2 -250gb- 8mb cache

BUT i put this all in my lovely old magnolia 6 yr old ATX case, this case is solid, good quality but it looks horrible!!! It atm has 2 fans in it, one 92mm generic at the front under the drive bays, and one at the back under the PSU ... again 92mm and cheap.....

So, as you see this atm is a throw together , but with some new parts, well most of the guts are brand new, apart from the case, PSU, and prephirals, so i wanted to keep to the mATX system, as the NB chipset wont bother me just yet, and i will never have a "gaming" rig...but as close to it for the money ...is the aim