Data Recovery / Hard Drive Diagnosis

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by thefoucault, Aug 30, 2007.

1. thefoucault

thefoucault Private E-2

I'll try to be specific here, but I don't want this post to be gigantic so I'll just say what I assume is relevant.

I had a secondary hard drive (D:, NTFS, WD1200) crash on me. I suspect it was a logical failure, as I haven't seen/heard anything to indicate the drive is mechanically broken, but I'm not an expert in this area so I don't know for sure. One day my comupter took ages to boot, and the drive showed up in Windows, and the system froze; after a restart the drive showed up again, but with no size/free space information. Later it didn't show up at all. CHKDSK seems to have exacerbated the problem, so I've just been skipping that entirely.

The drive usually shows up during the boot sequence. Windows sometimes recognizes it's there, and sometimes doesn't, but it's never accessible directly. I've tried a few data recovery programs, with varying success; some don't recognize it at all, others (R-Studio) have been able to extract a few files here and there, but here's where I have a problem.

I can only try recovering files for a little bit, maybe 10 minutes (including the lengthy boot sequence and Windows' startup) before the drive is no longer recognized at all, by any programs, or even by the boot sequence. After I wait a while, I can restart, find that the drive's recognized by the boot sequence once again, slowly recover a few files, then whatever recovery program I'm using ceases to recognize the drive once again.

My questions are: 1) Am I even possibly right about this being a logical failure, or does the stops-working-after-a-while symptom mean this is mechanical? 2) Am I irrevocably damaging something by trying to recover stuff in this way? 3) Would using a USB-to-IDE cable give me more versatility either way?

Thanks in advance.

2. jtsmith

jtsmith Private E-2