Decent n00b book for "nix

Discussion in 'Software' started by augiedoggie, Jan 7, 2008.

1. augiedoggie

augiedoggie The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)

I'm looking for a decent book that will explain things to me as I'm totally new to this as everytime I get past one roadblock I hit another. Konsole mode sucks for me though it's similar to the way DOS worked but it's really frustrating the :crap out of me. Searching with google is fine but when one doesn't know what to search for, well you get my drift . Are the 'Dummy' books any good? I'm currently running Kubuntu 7.04 Thanks for any response.

2. Port-O-San

Port-O-San Corporal

I have nothing to offer except that I'd like to ask the same question!
    Need education!

Oh, yes = I think that Canonical will send you literature, but am not sure just what, when, and at what cost........http://www.canonical.com/

3. Fred_G

Fred_G Heat packin' geek

I am looking at moving the Penguin back onto a couple of my computers. I bought 'Moving to Linux' by Marcel Gagne a year or so ago, kinda helpfull, but not a full tutorial on Linux.

My advice would be to dual boot Linux on a computer, use it and that will narrow your search when you have a problem. I googled Linux tutorials and found some pretty good sites. There are just so many versions of Linux. I guess that is good and bad.

Looks like I will be working a lot more with the Linux in the near future. :D

E

4. augiedoggie

Ya I know, but I'd like a book as I'm in front of the screen for a good part of the day and need something different. :)

5. Mada_Milty

Mada_Milty MajorGeek

Tough question due to the nature of Linux... every distro is going to be new learning curve.

You can likely get a guide on shell commands (which again, depends on the shell you choose to use), and that would be a decent start to at least command line mastery, and that would be most transferrable across distros. However, you seem to know a bit about this already?? :confused