Dell Latitude D620 won't power on

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by violet, Sep 19, 2013.

1. violet

violet Private E-2

Hello! I have a Dell Latitude D620 that runs Windows 7 and is 8 years old. Through the years I have replaced various parts on the laptop including the memory, the motherboard, and some other stuff (I'm no techie). Over the past two years or so, my laptop screen has went black when I've jiggled the cord somehow. Also, the three lights would go out, (one is power, one is the brain, one is battery, last is wifi) and every light EXCEPT the power light would go out. I would turn it off, then back on and things would be fine.

I have run a couple of tests which suggested my computer was going bad. It can't pass the short (can't think of the name) test. Still, it's been working just fine for more than 2 years. I back up every Friday, so I'm prepared if it is toast.

Recently I jiggled the cord and all was lost. I assumed my problem was with the adapter b/c I could still power on with the battery. I purchased 3 new cords (two knockoffs from Amazon, one expensive one from Dell directly) and none will work. The adapter light comes on when it is plugged up and stays on when my laptop is connected. However, none will power on my laptop or charge the battery. When I try to power on with or w/o the power cord, the battery light blinks red and nothing else happens.

I would like to know what I can do. I tried the GeekSquad, but those folks were pushing me to get another computer instead. I have other laptops. A Dell Inspiron and a Macbook. But, this laptop is my baby. I love it! It was the first one I ever purchased and I even named it. It is the one I use everyday at work and the one that got me through school.

I appreciate any help you might be able to send my way! I'm also happy to provide any additional information you might need.

2. mdonah

mdonah Major Geek Extraordinaire