Dell studio 1536 usb ports not working help please!

Discussion in 'Software' started by Bamnanas, Oct 24, 2012.

1. Bamnanas

Bamnanas Private E-2

Hello, I'm new to the site. The issue I'm trying to address is my usb ports on my Dell Studio 1536. I did a dban nuke on my hard drive a while back and I'm a complete noob with that stuff so it deleted all my drivers. Luckily I had a CD with my dell drivers and utilities as well as a install for windows vista. I decided to put each of the drivers one by one to get the ports to work and nothing. None of my ports work which includes 3 usb ports and a SD card port. I recently upgraded to windows 8 and my computer runs much better than it did on vista. But I just really want to have these ports in working order constantly transferring files on disc is very tedious. Any help would be appreciated. THANKS! :confused

SYSTEM INFO:
    Windows 8 release preview
    DELL Studio 1536
    x64
    AMD TURION X2 DUAL CORE RM-74, 2200 MHZ, 2 CORE, 2 LOGICAL PROCESSORS
    BIOS VERSION A06 1/11/2010

2. Caliban

Caliban I don't need no steenkin' title!

Greetings, Bamnanas, and welcome to MajorGeeks...

If you would please supply your Dell Service Tag # so we can point you to the correct driver(s).

Where to find your Service Tag

Be advised that there are many OEM drivers that may not be compatible with Windows 8 (or Win7, for that matter).

3. Bamnanas

Bamnanas Private E-2

Ok my service tag number is J264MH1 thanks a lot. I took some drivers from there and still nothing. I also uninstalled the usb root hubs rebooted and installed the chip set nothing. I think it maybe the hard drive I have seen some forums claiming if the disk is faulty the usb ports would not receive the needed power for usb ports to work. So I ran a dell diagnostics program online and found these results. If you could make sense of it that be awesome.

Attached Files:

4. Caliban

Your Service Tag # is showing that your machine has a Western Digital hard drive: