Desperate windows problem

Discussion in 'Software' started by kimberlylarae, May 12, 2008.

1. kimberlylarae

kimberlylarae Private E-2

I uninstalled a windows office trial and nothing would work so I did a system restore (not the complete kind, my software and everything is still there) but none of my software programs will open. I can go online and I can look in my files but that's about all. Windows message says they're (my software programs) not there or it's a file that can't be opened. Nothing in my control panel will open either. I downloaded another window's office trial thinking maybe that would solve the problem but it won't install. I'm an online college student and I can't hand in my assignments because my scanner won't work. I tried to uninstall it--won't uninstall--tried to reinstall it--won't reinstall. In both instances it "was a file that can't be opened."

Should I go ahead and do a complete restore and start from scratch? My computer is an emachine and i have windows xp home. It's not real stable, I've had a lot of problems with it. But it's only a year old. Can't afford to take it to a professional and I can't afford to buy a new one.

thank you for any advice. I'm a non technical girly girl so keep it simple.:cry

2. dlb

dlb MajorGeek