Determining burner s/w for newer drives

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BillMS, Sep 3, 2006.

1. BillMS

BillMS Private E-2

Hi,

Forum newbie here, and first post here too - so please be gentle. :)

First off, I'm confused from reading (probably) too much stuff.

I'm adding a couple newer (not new models however) to couple systems. Systems are pretty much Win98se (tho will dual boot with W2K sometimes). Systems are dinosaurs (by today's 'standards'). 500-900mhz, ~300MB, HDs in the range of 5 to 30GB.

The first I tried was an LG GCC 4521B (about 2/04). System sees the CD OK, but does not recognize it as a burner. Tried Adpatec 4.02 and SpeedyCD (Microsolutions s/w that works fine on even older equipment). I use Adaptec 4.02 on my really old Compaq DeskPro (233mhz, Win95b) with a Plextor CD burner. Worked fine for years. That old fella is on its way out -- sob.

I was told (by someone on the Compuserve Hardware forum) that it is the software that needs to detect the newer drives. (I had asked a question about 'where do I get the drivers' for newer CD/DVD drives.) And, that the various manufacturers would tell you what software is needed to detect their drives. So far, I have been totally unable to find such information available.

Before I posted this message I did look thru the FAQs here, and did some message searching. Learned a lot, but too much to try on systems until I understand more. That's the reason for this message.

I also have a brand 'new' (just got from Newegg) NEC ND 3550A all-purpose CD/DVD burner. However, I gather even this drive model is over a year old. I have not tried that at all, pending getting more software info and understanding.