Do i have to upgrade motherboard?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TrainHeartnet, May 31, 2008.

1. TrainHeartnet

TrainHeartnet Private E-2

hello, im new to overclocking and all that stuff, i just saw a guide i found on google about the "maximum stable overclocks easily attainable with a stock Intel heatsink/fan" on a E6300 Intel Core 2 Duo (its what i currently have), and it says the max stable OC they could get was this

"E6300 was able to reach 2.592GHz using a 370MHz FSB at 1.400V (up from 1.320V stock)"

what im wondering is if i will have to upgrade my motherboard in order to OC up to this or a lil lower, and if i have to upgrade anything else. my pc is as follows

HP Pavilion a1640n :

Windows Xp Media Center Edition SP2
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1.8ghz
    2048 Memory
    250 GB HDD @ 7200 RPM
    Evga 8800 GTS 320 MB
    SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme-Gamer Professional Series

any help would be appreciated

2. akhilles

akhilles First Sergeant

Google "pc wizard" & use that to post your mobo make & model. Also, memory.

3. ACE 256

ACE 256 MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Overclocking Expe

The simple answer is yes, you will need a motherboard that supports at least FSB overclocking. Aside from pin mods and other motherboard modifications HP motherboards are not overclockable. Overclocking via the PLL is also a possibility but IIRC HP has been using PLLs that don't support software overclocking when ever possible.

4. TrainHeartnet

Okay, sorry for the late reply, heres what i got with pc wizard

Manufacturer : Hewlett-Packard Company
    Mainboard : Asus Buckeye
    Chipset : Intel P965
    Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 1866 MHz
    Physical Memory : 2048 MB (2 x 1024 DDR2-SDRAM )
    Video Card : Nvidia Corp GeForce 8800 GTS
    Hard Disk : HDT722525DLA380 (250 GB)
    DVD-Rom Drive : HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GSA-H30L
    Monitor Type : 17 inches
    Network Card : Intel Corporation 82562V 10/100 Network Connection