Dual boot Win98 and Linux

Discussion in 'Software' started by Allochthonous, Apr 16, 2006.

1. Allochthonous

Allochthonous Corporal

I have a blank, 20 GB FAT32 formatted HD that i want to make a dual boot Win98SE /Linux box. Is it better to install Windows into the whole 20 GB partition, then let the Linux installer take care of the repartioning (if available in the installation package) or should i go ahead and repartition now, then install Win98 on one partition and Linux on the other? I am probably going to go with either Ubuntu or PCLinuxOS. (I am a Linux newbie)

Can you recommend any FREE partitioning tools that are easy to use?

PK

2. Colemanguy

Colemanguy MajorGeek

No, just use windows to setup half the free space avaible then tell linux to use the unformated space.

3. Shadow_Puter_Dude

Shadow_Puter_Dude MG Authorized Malware Fighter

You can use QtParted from the Knoppix 'Live CD' to manipulate your partitions.

3 options.
    1. Let the Linux Installer handle resizing the partions, and configuring for Dual Boot.
    2. Resize your DOS partiton, and create an Empry Partiton for Linux. Should be at Least 10Gb in size. Install Linux on the second partiton.
    3. Wipe everthing, partiton the drive, install WIN 98 on the first partition, then install Linux on the second partition.

In all cases the Linux Boot Manager should properly handle configuring your system for dual boot.

4. Allochthonous

Allochthonous Corporal