Dual Booting

Discussion in 'Software' started by Drunken Monkey, Oct 25, 2005.

1. Drunken Monkey

Drunken Monkey Private E-2

Ok, I am a total noob at this kinda stuff. All I know is dual booting will let me run windowsXP and Linux (or whatever it is) off the same computer. I know it wont let me do it at the same time....and thats about all I know on this subject. What I need from you fine people here at Major Geeks is to help me on:
    • What I need in able to do this.
    • How SHOULD I do this.
    • Anything else you feel I should know on the subject before attempting it.

All help is greatly appreciated.

2. thi3f

thi3f Private E-2

To my knowledge, all it really takes is just two partitions. One partition you will have Windows on, the other Linux.

On your computer's startup, it will prompt you to choose an OS.

I've ran two OS's before, and to the better of my recollection, I believe that's all I did, hah.

PartitionMagic is good for partitioning, I know that much as well.

3. risk_reversal

risk_reversal MajorGeek

You will also need to install older windows systems first (ie in the partition order) and other o/s like Linux last.

You should also get yourself a boot manager which will allow you to select which o/s you can boot into. I think XP may do this but I use BootMagic which is part of Partition Magic.....

Seting up a dual boot system is not difficult but there are some proceedures which need to be followed.

My suggestion would be to select the 3rd party partitioning software which you are going to use and then to read the instructions. Thereafter you can ask further questions as to areas that you are unsure of.

Cheers

4. cr.Gena

cr.Gena Private First Class