easiest way to transfer mp3 files...

Discussion in 'Software' started by bbrich, Jan 24, 2004.

1. bbrich

bbrich Private E-2

I just got a new laptop :cool: , so now I want to take some of my programs from my old esktop and put them on to my laptop (these files mainly being .mp3 files) What is the easiest way to do this, keeping in mind that I'm new to this so anything too technical is out the window... Can I just burn a data disk that contains the .mp3 files, will they work on my new comp if I just did that? Because I really don't want to burn all those songs onto normal cd-r's b/c it would take way too many cd's... Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

2. BozUriel

BozUriel Private E-2

Programs? Most programs don't cotton to just moving them, you have re/install them to the laptop. But the MP3 are good to go.

Yes you can burn disks that contain just the MP3's and then copy them onto your laptop. Depending on how much information you plan on moving, check these other options on for size.

Network your two computers together and transfer the files. If you don't have them, you'll need a Network Interface Card with both machines, ($10 to $190 USD depends on which one you buy). If you choose not to use Wireless NICs, then you'll need a cross-over cable ($4-$7 depending on length). Bonus here is a shared Internet connection, shared printers and folders, move any thing anytime between your two machines.

or

There is a notebook 2.5''-3.5'' HD adapter ($13.5 USD) that will allow you to take your hard drive out of the laptop, stick it on this adapter and make it a slave IDE device (think CD or Hard Drive) and copy the files from one hard drive to another.

or

Buy a USB Pocketable Hard Drive price depends on size, 256MB ($128 USD)

Many other scenarios also available but I'd choose the networking one. And if you have questions on that, ask in the "Network" forum. :D

All prices straight from Cyberguys dot com.

3. DavidGP