Error when clicking properties in network connections

Discussion in 'Software' started by Tourangh, Jul 18, 2008.

1. Tourangh

Tourangh Master Sergeant

I really dont know how to properly state this but I will try.
    Just so everyone knows I am runnning Vista and using a laptop. Connected to a modem directly throught ethernet port. I am an administrator on this comptuer as well.

Basically when I go to control panel-> Network and Internet-> manage Network connections.
    Here it will show my 2 connections. One is wireless the other is Local area connection. Wireless is obviously shut off...
    Basically I double click Local area connection and to show status, packets sent etc...
    Well my problem is that I can not click properties/repair/diagnose here. Everytime I do so I get an error saying There was an unexpected error.

This is where I am lost as to what I am doing wrong. I am having this problem where I loose connection randomly for short periods of time. THe thread I made on the issue is here: http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=163179

Basically I have come to the conclusion that I am sending/recieving way to many packets and this is flooding my modem for a short period of time. I was going to uninstall and reinstall the network drivers turn of automatic update for my utitilies etc..

But basically I am wondering why I am not allowed to check properties or disable my local area connection. Kepp getting the same error =(

2. Matacumbie

Matacumbie Rocky Top

Click Start > Run > then type cmd in the Open field and click OK.

That will open a black command prompt window. Click into the black window so you can type commands in.

Type regsvr32 netshell.dll, and click OK in the dialog that comes up

Type regsvr32 ole32.dll, and click OK in the dialog that comes up

Restart the computer and see if you still get the error.

Steve

3. Tourangh

Tourangh Master Sergeant

Didn't work =(
    By the way, what does that do?

4. Matacumbie