Explorer wont work as it should after a virus removal

Discussion in 'Software' started by sli1, Oct 4, 2010.

1. sli1

sli1 Private E-2

Hi there,

Hope this is the right area for me to post as its my first time posting here.

Ok, i had a nasty infection(fake antivirus) a few weeks ago which i managed to get rid of but have a bit of a pain to clean up after it.
    I have cleaned up most of the damage but the only thing that remains is beyond me.

Basically the biggest damage was done when the virus infected my explorer.exe and the winlogon.exe.
    This os is Windows 7 by the way.

I managed to get clean files back on there after removing the rest of the infection, but since then if i click on Start > Computer it will open another program on my system instead(fileseek). Same goes for Control panel, Devices and Printers, Default programs, Documents and anything that should use explorer in the shell.
    Basically its as though where ever explorer.exe is called the .exe for fileseek is being called instead.

I have tried Ccleaner to see if this will fix it in the registry but no go. Same with Registry Mechanic.

Only way i could get to anything in the control panel or anything else is to use the Windows 7 Godmode(seems to be the common name for it) hack and go through those links. This is after i managed to create a shortcut to the explorer.exe and set that to start at login.

Also tried restoring anything i can back to default in windows(default programs, file types etc) but this did not help.

So i have my work around but this is still quite frustrating as i keep running into things i cant do because of this.
    I dont have any restore points as i deleted those tackling the infection.

Hope my description makes sense to what is happening and someone could point me in the right direction.
    So far my google searches have failed me and cant find anything to fix this.

More then happy to provide any info required to help solve this. Just let me know what you need.