External HDD not recognised

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mathilda, Oct 17, 2009.

1. mathilda

mathilda Private First Class

I have been using a WD External HDD for several months now, but since formatting my computer it is not recognised anymore. I like to use Ghost for my backups. I have tried the WD External HDD on another computer and it works on that OK, in fact I was able to format it so that I could start afresh. I have done all AV and spyware programs etc. Can anyone help me please.

Thanks
    Tilly

2. MoPaR

MoPaR Private First Class

3. BILLMCC66

BILLMCC66 Bionic Belgian

You could open your device manager and see if the HDD is seen by that.
    Or open "run" and type in the bar "msconfig" then under "tools" highlight "computer management" there you will see "disk management" it may take a few seconds to find the disks in your system, then highlight the disk you are having trouble with from there you will be able to get it recognized.

4. mathilda

Hi thanks for your replies.

I have checked the device manager and it shows the WD HDD OK. Also done the updating of device as suggested, no updates were needed. It is still not recognised in the backup/restore program or for Ghost.

To be absolutely clear what I am trying to do is to get a mirror image of all my computer on to the external drive in such a way that I can read all the files etc., not in compressed format, so that if my computer goes down and need to format it, I can reinstall all my data and read everything.

I should like to know if possible whether and if so how I can copy all my data from my computer to the WD HDD and then use that external drive to a different computer and be able to install it to that computer.

Thanks again
    Tilly

5. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire