Feather Linux for recovering files from XP - getting it running

Discussion in 'Software' started by Tenacious, Oct 28, 2004.

1. Tenacious

Tenacious Private E-2

I finally managed to recover several hundred files from a failed Windows XP computer by using ReadNTFS. I even used my digital camera to take screen shots of the directories, so I could recreate the long filenames in place of the truncated 8.3 filenames I got by using ReadNTFS to go through DOS. But, boy, do I dread doing *that*!

Then I saw here on MajorGeeks (I’m a newbie) some references to Knoppix and Mepis. I’ve spent the last couple of days reading up on those and related matters. I ended up downloading Feather Linux, from <http://featherlinux.berlios.de/download.htm>, with hopes of recovering those same files with the long filenames intact. However, I can’t get Feather Linux to boot on either of two computers.

On the failed computer, an HP PAVILION 7966 which has no hard drive in it at the moment, I get as far as the splash screen, then the cheatcode list, then (after booting using cheatcodes in several different combinations) the small penguin at the top left corner of the screen, but that just flashes by and then I get a blank screen. I have to hold down the Ctrl or Alt key to see the messages that say, “Welcome....Scanning for SCSI...” and eventually, something like “Can’t find Feather Linux filesystem, sorry. Loading a (very limited) shell,” with a list of about nine built-in commands.