Grub Rescue problem

Discussion in 'Software' started by Ph4n70m_H4ck3r.d9, May 6, 2015.

1. Ph4n70m_H4ck3r.d9

Ph4n70m_H4ck3r.d9 Private E-2

Hello fellow Geeks, im a newbie, no biggie, just a normal teen. Now im currently experiencing this problem here, so i hope someone here is willing to teach me step by step through this mess.

Originally, i had an Asus Notebook PC X201E with a Windows 8 installed. With both curiousity and the impetuosity of youth, i ventured on the various Operating Systems. Downloaded some like Backtrack 5, Ubuntu v.14.10, and of course, the newest Windows 10. I had multiple OS running alongside in my PC. As i came across the newest version for Linux OS (Kali Linux), i just had to install it. Therefore upon the deletion of the Ubuntu partition, i now suffer a GRUB problem of being unable to access my files on Windows. Currently now available on my monitor screen is the following...

error: unknown filesystem.
    Entering rescue mode...
    grub rescue>

Ive tried typing ls for the various files, and ive got...
    (hd0) (hd0,msdos5) (hd0,msdos4) (hd0,msdos2) (hd0,msdos1)

Tried the...
    grub rescue> set root=(hdX,Y)
    grub rescue> set prefix =(hdX,Y)/boot/grub or....
    grub rescue> ls (hdX,Y)/usr/lib/grub/i386-pc (this is an alternative course right?)
    grub rescue> insmod normal or just "normal"
    All tried, and the end states "Filesystem is unknown."????

Since all failed, mostly due to my lack of understanding this issue, i turned to try booting from the BIOS the Ubuntu OS burned to my CD. However, since there is no CD, DVD reader bulit-in to my laptop, i have purchased a hard drive CD reader. The Samsung Portable DVD Writer, model SE-208. (Just saying in case you need such info) The bad news is the BIOS couldnt detect my DVD reader. NOTE, i have used that reader for a few months already, its not newly purchased. The BIOS clearly detected the reader before until this happened.