hard drive dead?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bsktbllanimelova, Aug 23, 2007.

1. bsktbllanimelova

bsktbllanimelova Private E-2

i'm not really experienced with computers and i'm having problems with my computer...

one day i was on the computer and i started to hear beeping noises, i didn't think much of it, but when i went to shut the computer down, it froze entirely, the mouse wouldn't work, i had no choice but to pull the plug. then the next day, when i went to turn it on, i heard the same beeping noises from the day before, and suddenly a blue screen appeared saying something about a disk error and asked me to restart it. i did and it got to the screen where you see the windows' logo, then it froze...i had to pull the plug again and restart it. i access the BIOS screen (i think that is what you call it) and found that the computer didn't find both of my hard drive, but it did find my cd drive. i exited the the BIOs screen and let it load some more and i get 2 errors:

202: drive not ready
    203: insert boot diskette
    press any key to continue...(or somehthing like that)

and i tried to press a key and nothing happened. i turned it on and off and the same error showed up...

i also checked the cables and even switching the cable with a new one

i looked around the net and it said that if the hard drive made noise and that error it might be dead...am i over reacting? should i try the freezing it?

2. musksnipe

musksnipe Guest

Can't help you with most of those questions, but most PC's beep a code when they are booting. One beep for my PC means all is normal. here is a list of beep codes for different types of PC's. That may help you pin down the prob a little better.

http://networking.ringofsaturn.com/PC/beep.php

3. bsktbllanimelova

i'll go check...