Hardware Advice Needed for a Thermaltake

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by xspankyx, Mar 7, 2010.

1. xspankyx

xspankyx Private E-2

All right, let me start of by saying that I'm no expert concerning PC hardware. Sure I can handle Dells, swap out CD-ROM drives, HDs, motherboards without a problem. Thing is I'm definitely a bit out of my league with the high-performance gaming PCs.

I've got a Thermaltake XaserIIISuperTower v1000 series (blue) that recently came into my possession (it's my dad's but he's letting it go). It's not working at the moment, and I'm convinced that either the MB or power supply or both are dead (this thing was on pretty much non-stop for about 6 yrs). Now my boyfriend needs a new PC and I can't let this thing go so I've decided to tackle this project :) Ambitious aren't I? Anyway, I need some major advice seeing as how it's pretty difficult to find anything online without scouring through hundreds of pages of forums.

This PC has been gutted pretty thoroughly so I need a lot of hardware. Here are my questions:

1) What MB should I get to replace the existing ASUS A8N-VM CSM?
    2) What kind of cooling fans should I get to go with the MB? (Room for 2)
    3) Sound card isn't necessary b/c I don't have speakers to work with, but what sound card would you recommend?
    4) What video/graphics card would be appropriate?
    5) What power supply? (this is only if that is a problem, but I doubt it is)
    6) Am I missing anything?!

I have an adaptec Ultra 160 SCSI card. I have a fan controller. All connecting wires are still inside the PC from what I can see.

I really appreciate any advice you could give me. I'm hell-bent on hooking this thing up & I am prepared to be frustrated and feel like an idiot. I really want to learn more and get some good hands on experience. I also don't have much of a choice since my dad doesn't really want to help me lol. But yea...please help! :D

2. Burrell

Burrell MajorGeek