HD 7950 drivers black screen opening game

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BigglezMcGee, Oct 24, 2013.

1. BigglezMcGee

BigglezMcGee Private E-2

I have a new graphics card, I'm relatively new to all this hardware updating, but I've followed guide and managed to install the thing. Problem is, I'm never sure if it's going to function properly. I updated the drivers to the most recent and every time I open a game I get to the first logo screen and once it is supposed to go to the next it fades to black, like normal, but gets stuck there, my computer is frozen completely and I have to hard restart. I also can't go into the catalyst control center. When I try to open it, I get a grey screen with vertical white lines. Sometimes it's orangish, sometimes other colors. The same thing happens when I go to a store page on the steam client, but only when it has the video player, nothing happens when it's on browser. I uninstalled my drivers and installed the beta drivers. No problem there, for a day, then it started up again. Then I went farther back (current is 13.9) and no problems, for a day, now it has started up again. Oh and it's probably important to note that when there are no crashing problems, the game runs perfectly smooth, no crashing, no nothing. Oh and last night I was able to play games, but not go on store pages. Help!

Operating System
    Windows 7 Home Premium (x64) Service Pack 1 (build 7601)
    Install Language: English (United States)
    System Locale: English (United States)
    Installed: 3/13/2013 11:44:29 PM

System Model
    iBUYPOWER Computers

Processor a
    3.40 gigahertz AMD Phenom II X4 965
    512 kilobyte primary memory cache
    2048 kilobyte secondary memory cache
    6144 kilobyte tertiary memory cache
    64-bit ready
    Multi-core (4 total)
    Not hyper-threaded

Main Circuit Board b
    Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4N68T-M-V2 Rev X.0x
    Serial Number: MT7011K15800162
    Bus Clock: 200 megahertz